Placement test

Each student welcomed at the Alliance Française de Paris is taken care of individually in order to best meet his or her expectations and needs in French.

To register for a French course at Alliance Française de Paris, you will take an online placement test which will allow us to evalutate your level of French and orient you towards the course most suitable for your objectives (higher education, professional, or personal).

You have 5 days after payment of your course to take the online test and send it back to us. The participation in the placement test and its return within the set time limit will condition your participation in the course for which you have registered.

Complete beginners, previously enrolled students, and those who have taken the test within less than 6 months are exempt.

Courses based on the CEFR level

All our courses are aligned with the Common European Framework of Reference of Languages (CEFR) to ensure continuous and measurable progress.

This reference system defines levels of foreign language proficiency based on skills in different areas of competence : A1, A2, B1, B2, C1 and C2. It provides a common basis for the design of official programs, diplomas, and certificates. It therefore encourages educational and professional mobility, and creates bridges between all Alliance Françaises and insitutions that align their course offerings with the CEFR.

Educational progress

We offer a modular system of complementary and combinable courses and workshops. The number of course hours generally required to reach a level has been determined by our pratical experience.

Your progress depends on many factors, particularly individual ones (motivation, experience in learning other languages, proximity of your mother tongue to French, etc...) With regular and autonomous work, you will manage to progress from one level to the next.

Acces to a new course or workshop is available every four weeks.

Test de positionnement

Chaque étudiant accueilli à l’Alliance Française de Paris est pris en charge individuellement afin de satisfaire au mieux ses attentes et besoins en français.

Pour vous inscrire à un cours de français à l’Alliance Française de Paris, vous passerez un test de positionnement en ligne qui permettra d’évaluer votre niveau de français et vous orienter vers le cours le plus adapté à vos objectifs (d’études supérieures, professionnels ou personnels).

Vous disposez de 5 jours après le paiement de votre cours pour effectuer le test en ligne et nous le renvoyer. La participation au test de positionnement et son retour dans les délais fixés conditionnent votre participation au cours auquel vous vous êtes inscrit.

Les débutants complets, les étudiants déjà inscrits et ceux qui ont passé le test depuis moins de 6 mois en sont dispensés.

Des cours basés sur le niveau du CECRL

Tous nos cours sont alignés sur le Cadre Européen Commun de Référence pour les Langues (CECRL) afin d'assurer une progression continue et mesurable.

Ce référentiel définit six niveaux de maîtrise d'une langue étrangère en fonction de savoir-faire dans différents domaines de compétences : niveau A1, A2, B1, B2, C1 et C2. Il fournit une base commune pour la conception de programmes, de diplômes et de certificats. Il favorise donc la mobilité éducative et professionnelle et crée des passerelles au sein du réseau des Alliances Françaises en France et à l’étranger et de l’ensemble des établissements qui alignent leur offre de cours sur le CECRL.

Progression pédagogique

Nous proposons un système modulaire composé de cours et d'ateliers complémentaires et combinables. Le nombre d’heures de cours généralement nécessaires pour atteindre un niveau a été déterminé par notre expérience pratique.

Vos progrès dépendent de nombreux facteurs, notamment individuels (motivation, expérience de l’apprentissage d'autres langues, proximité de votre langue maternelle avec le français...). Avec de la régularité et du travail en autonomie, vous parviendrez à progresser et passer d’un niveau à l’autre.

L'accès à un nouveau cours ou atelier est possible toutes les quatre semaines.